徒步治愈-女性運動計劃

徒步治癒是我們的首個計劃,從2015年開始,專注於幫助12名弱勢女性從嚴重創傷中恢復。現在,這是個為30名難民女性每週進行的運動計劃(健行/健身/瑜伽或健行/游泳交替進行)。除了運動外,我們亦提供營養早餐及午餐給參加者,還有生活技能課程作為補足,包括家長效率培訓(PET)、營養討論會、減重支持和女性健康討論會。一位精於心靈創傷的心理學家為這組難民提供直接支援。

2018年我們提供了43節女性限定的運動課程給43名女性難民。

我們很高興可以與Flex StudioHong Kong Swimming Academy 合作,分別為我們的成員提供瑜伽課程及游泳課程。

男女混合田徑訓練計劃

這是每週進行的計劃,由專業跑步教練Charlotte Cutler帶領40名成年難民(男女混合)進行,並提供比徒步治愈計劃更具挑戰性的體能訓練。我們支持難民參與5到32公里的本地賽跑,根據我們的經驗,這些賽事提升了他們的歸屬感以及與地方社群的整合度,並且通過達成目標來大幅提升他們的自尊。

2018年,我們提供了45節田徑予40名成人。(19名男性, 21名女性, 11名青少年)

PATHS前程規劃 – 成人教育計劃

我們的難民成員參加了我們的運動計劃後都變得更加強大,甚至要求有更多機會鍛煉自己的思維,像鍛煉身體一樣。 PATHS是一項全面的成人教育計劃,具五大特點:專業發展,教育機會,培訓和服務,協助和良師指導,以及技能培訓。自2017年開始作為21名成員的試點研究和輔導計劃,我們於2019年正式啟動了PATHS,將該計劃擴展到所有成年難民成員。學習新技能和發展專業意味著難民有更好的機會在未來重新安置的地方獲得穩定的就業機會,在香港工作的特殊授權*,並最終為自己和家人建立更美好的未來。以下是關於PATHS的詳情。

於2018年,22名難民透過網上學習獲得共44張教育文憑的佳績,涉及的科目包括英文,資訊科技,會計,法律及商業。6名難民在香港受認可為護理員,4名難民透過Creative Technologists 計劃學習木工,激光切割及金工的技能。透過香港政府的特殊授權及與我們企業夥伴的合作,我們成功為4名難民爭取工作機會。

我們很高興可與英國文化協會領英MakerBaySkadden活力國際專業護理有限公司合作,提供優質教育及機會予我們的難民成員。

*難民一般都不准在香港工作,但我們獲得人權及移民法的律師Mark Daly提供有關從入境事務處處長根據每個個案得到特殊工作許可的法律建議。現時我們與各大企業合作,協助一些難民獲得特殊的工作機會。

領袖計劃

我們支持難民透過參與RUN的營運,培養自立及學習承擔和責任感。以下是難民參與我們的工作的一些例子:

  • 為企業社會責任的活動準備食物,裝飾及程序表,例如電影晚會及健行
  • 籌辦我們著名的難民大挑戰及一年一度的RUN慈善跑
  • 與更多難民社群分享他們的技能 (例如新註冊的護理員在RUN的辦公室與醫護行者籌辦了一個小型健康診所,提供基本檢查服務及建議予其他難民及尋求庇護者) 及對難民學生提供學習支援
  • 參與我們的賽跑委員會,當中包括一個小組,由長期跑手協助選擇適合難民參與及做義工的的香港賽跑比賽、建立訓練計劃及支援較少經驗的難民跑手參加比賽
兒童保育和兒童體育項目項目

托兒服務是我們對難民全面支援的其中一個重要部分,尤其是對單獨在港照顧兒童的母親。多數難民兒童都沒法入讀幼稚園,所以我們組織了日間托兒服務,並且資助晚間托兒補貼,讓家長能夠參加我們的計劃,並專注於他們自己的康復旅程,而且可以很放心他們的孩子能得到照顧。

除了托兒服務,我們還組織了體育活動,例如田徑及游泳班予小童及青少年,尤其於學校假期期間。對於面對抑鬱症及受到其他創傷的青年人來說,這些運動動可以給予他們一個出外活動和社交的理由。

在2018年,我們共服務了45名兒童及18歲以下的青少年,他們透過我們的計劃接受了育兒及托兒服務、17周的體育活動、每周的田徑訓練及青年賽跑。

食物和加餐

我們提供健康食物和飲料,特別是健行日的早餐和午餐,訓練前的小食和田徑訓練後的便餐,以及在班中和自修時間在我們的辦公室提供水果和健康小食。這些都是必要的,因為參與者到來的時候往往很餓,特別是在月底他們的政府食物優惠券用光的時候。我們很高興可以與Feeding Hong KongFoodlink Foundation 合作,他們為我們提供了基本食物,保持我們的低營運成本。

緊急支援

RUN也獨立為其參與者協調緊急支持,並與其他非政府組織合作以方便難民獲得保健、食物和房屋支援,這些非政府機構包括基督教勵行會的難民服務中心醫護行者國際社會服務組織(ISS)以及香港司法中心。 我們很感激Annerley, Dr. Sarah Borwein 及Alison Mackay為我們提供義務工作。

Hiking to Heal - Women’s Sports Programme

Hiking to Heal was our first programme started in 2015, focusing on 12 vulnerable women recovering from severe trauma. Now, it is a weekly sports programme that alternates hiking with other complementary sports activities such as yoga, swimming, self-defence, and basketball for a group of around 30 refugee women. In addition to sports activities, we also provide nutritional breakfast and lunch for participants, and life skills education, covering topics such as Parent Effectiveness Training (PET), nutrition, weight loss, and women’s health. A psychologist specialising in trauma directly supports this group.

In 2018, we organised 43 women-only sessions for 32 female refugees.

We are delighted to work with Flex Studio to provide yoga classes and Hong Kong Swimming Academy to provide swimming classes for our participants.

Mixed Gender Track Training Programme

This is a weekly programme led by a professional running coach, Charlotte Cutler, for around 40 adult refugees (mixed gender), and offers a greater physical challenge than Hiking to Heal. We support refugees to participate in local trail races that span distances anywhere from 5km to 100km, because our experience has shown that working towards and achieving such goals helps to boost self-esteem, and participating in races helps to increase a sense of belonging and integration with the local community.

In 2018, we provided 45 track sessions to 40 adults (19 males, 21 adult females, and 11 teenagers).

PATHS for the Future - Adult Education Programme

As our refugee participants grew stronger through our sports programmes, they asked for opportunities to exercise their minds, just as they did their bodies. PATHS is a comprehensive adult education programme characterised by the following five pillars: Professional development, Access to education, Training and service, Help and mentorship, and Skill building. Starting in 2017 as a pilot study and mentorship programme for 21 participants, we launched PATHS in 2019 to expand the programme to all adult refugee participants. Learning new skills and developing professionally means that refugees have a better chance of securing stable employment in their future country of resettlement, receiving exceptional authorisation to work in Hong Kong*, and ultimately building a better future for themselves and their families. Read more about PATHS here.

In 2018, 22 refugees received an impressive 44 education certificates for their online studies in subjects such as English, IT, accounting, law, and business, 6 refugees were certified as caregivers in Hong Kong, and 4 refugees developed their skills in woodwork, laser cutting, and metal work through a Creative Technologists programme. With exceptional authorisation from the Hong Kong government and in collaboration with our corporate partners, we were able to secure job placements for 4 refugees.

We are grateful to partner with LinkedIn, MakerBay, Skadden, and Active Global Specialised Caregivers so we can provide high quality education and opportunities to our refugee participants.

* Refugees are generally not permitted to work in Hong Kong, but we have received extensive legal advice from human rights and immigration lawyer Mark Daly about obtaining exceptional authorisation to work from the Director of Immigration in Hong Kong on a case-by-case basis. We are currently working with the corporate community to help facilitate exceptional employment for some refugees.

Leadership Programme

We support refugees to foster independence and learn about accountability and responsibility for RUN operations. Some of the ways refugee participants engage in our work include:

  • Preparing food, decorations, and agenda for CSR events such as movie nights and hikes
  • Organising our signature Great Refugee Challenge and annual RUN Charity Race
  • Sharing their skills with the wider refugee community (e.g. newly certified caregivers organised a mini-health clinic to provide basic checks and advice to other refugees and asylum seekers at the RUN office and in collaboration with Health In Action) and providing study support to fellow students
  • Participating in our Race Committee, which consists of a small group of more committed runners that help to choose competitions in Hong Kong for participants to race in and volunteer at, build training plans, and support less experienced refugee athletes in their races
Childcare and Children’s Sports Programmes

Childcare programmes are a critical part of our holistic support to refugees, particularly to mothers, who are often alone in Hong Kong with their children. As some refugee children are unable to access kindergarten, we organise childcare during the day and sponsor babysitting during the evening, giving parents the opportunity to participate in our programmes and focus on their own healing journeys, while resting assured that their children are being cared for.

In addition to childcare, we organise sports activities such as track activities and swimming classes for children and teenagers, particularly over the school holidays. For some young people who may struggle with depression and other trauma-related issues, these sports activities give them a reason to get out of the house and be active and social.

In 2018, we served 45 children and youth aged 18 and under with childcare and babysitting during our programmes, and 17 weeks of sports activities, weekly track training, and access to races for youth.

Food and Snacks

We provide healthy food and drinks, specifically breakfast and lunch on hiking days, pre-training snack and a post-training light meal, and fruit and health snacks at our office during classes or self-study time. These are essential as participants often arrive hungry, particularly near the end of the month when their government food coupons are running out. We are delighted to partner with Feeding Hong Kong and Foodlink Foundation to cover some of our basic food items so we can keep our costs low.

Emergency support

RUN coordinates emergency support for its participants independently and in partnership with other NGOs to facilitate access to healthcare, food, housing. Our partners include Centre for Refugees, Health in Action, International Social Services (ISS), and Justice Centre Hong Kong. We are also grateful to the following pro bono service providers: Annerley, Dr. Sarah Borwein, and Alison Mackay.