2015年起,我們便是自由步的其中一員,並於2018年於香港成為獨立的團體。很多人覺得我們成立RUN這個非政府組織去協助難民重過新生實在是太瘋狂了。這讓人們聯想到負面的「飛來香港」和「逃跑」,而非讓參加者透過我們的計劃來體驗香港的正面力量。不過,我們不能否認「飛來香港」這個事實,不幸地,這正是我們的參加者和我們的故事的不可否認的一部分。

RUN社群的成員都是從世界上最嚴重侵犯人權的國度、那個被稱為家卻生活最苦難的地方飛來香港的。他們逃離戰火、強暴、暴力及酷刑,其規模是您我都難以想像的。

他們隻身來到香港,孤立無援,身上除了幾件簡單衣物和財物便甚麼也沒有了。而他們所背負的最大負擔,便是在祖國經歷的種種傷痛,以及留下的精神創傷;他們的旅程艱苦而被受剝削,來到香港又因為支援太少、甚或毫無支援而淪為難民。

化負面為正面一趟治癒和康復的旅程。
這就是RUN成立的原因。我們是一個關注最弱勢難民、尤其是難民婦女的非政府組織,透過跑步和其他運動給予他們重過新生、復原的機會。我們致力將這種負面的「逃跑」經驗轉化為一些正面的體驗。我們的跑步是單純地奔跑,而不再是「逃跑」;我們邁步向前,踏上療癒、自由、成就、發展、改善及和平思想的正面旅程。

以運動克服精神創傷的力量
通過在戶外跑步來克服精神創傷,以及對抗抑鬱的好處長久以來已獲得證實。【連接至相關研究】超過7成參加者均表示個人健康、自尊心都得到提升;參加我們的跑步及行、游泳、瑜伽及健身等其他運動計劃後,人亦變得更為平靜、詳和、快樂和抱有希望。

以跑步作為契機
但跑步只是個開端而已。當他們的狀態好轉,我們的難民社群便會透過種種計劃助他們再進一步。除了運動之外,我們亦為參加者提供教育、導師及領袖培訓,以提升他們的技能,讓他們日後無論定居香港、或在重新安置的國家,都能擁抱更美好的未來。我們更為這些計劃附設支援服務,包括託兒、社交、心理及緊急援助,全部由我們熱心的義工於位處黃竹坑的溫暖、友善和安全的環境中提供。

RUN的目標是在香港透過運動創造一個協助難民適應環境、強化的難民社群,其中一個要點就是能夠與香港本地社群建立聯繫,並獲得其理解。前面還有很長的路要走,但憑藉您的幫助,我們相信定能到達終點!

支持我們、參與RUN社群,令香港成為難民更理想的家。

為您的健康而跑、為您的未來而跑、為您的夢想而跑。

Formerly part of Free to Run since 2015, RUN came to life as a sole entity in Hong Kong in 2018. Some people said we were mad to call an NGO that rehabilitates refugees RUN. It made them think negatively of ‘flight’ and ‘running away’, not of the positive empowerment our participants experience through our programmes. But we cannot dispute that reality of flight; unfortunately, that is an undeniable part of our participants’ and our story.

Members of the RUN community have fled from some of the world’s most serious human rights abuses in some of the hardest places to call home. They are running away from war, rape, violence and torture on a scale that neither you nor I could ever imagine.

They arrive in Hong Kong, alone and desolate, with nothing but the clothes on their backs and the few possessions they were able to bring with them. But the biggest load they carry is the trauma of what they experienced in their home country, compounded by their arduous and often exploitative journey to get here and the difficult existence of being a refugee in Hong Kong with little or no support.

Turning the negative into the positive – a journey of healing and recovery.
This is where RUN comes in. We are an NGO that focuses on the most vulnerable refugees, particularly women, offering them the opportunity to rehabilitate and recuperate through running and other sports. We strive to turn that negative experience of running into something positive. Our running is one, not of running away, but of running towards, of a positive journey of healing, freedom, achievement, advancement, improvement and peace of mind.

The power of sport to overcome trauma
The benefits of running and being outdoors in overcoming trauma and fighting depression have long been evidenced. Over 70% of our participants report improved personal health, increased self-esteem and being more calm, peaceful, happy and hopeful after participating in our running and other sports programmes, including hiking, swimming, yoga and fitness.

Running as the linchpin
But running is just the start of it. Once in a better state of mind, our refugee community moves forward though our programmes. As well as sports, we provide access to education, mentorship and leadership training for our participants to improve their skills towards a more hopeful future, whether in Hong Kong or in their resettlement countries. Wrapped around these programmes are our support services, including childcare, social, psychological and emergency assistance, all provided by our dedicated volunteers in the warm, friendly and safe RUN environment in Wong Chuk Hang.

RUN’s ambition is to create a resilient and empowered refugee community in Hong Kong through and beyond sport, one that connects with and is understood by the local Hong Kong community. There is a long way to go to get there. But with your help, we think we can make it to the finish line.

Support us and join the RUN community to make Hong Kong a better place for refugees.

RUN for your health. RUN for your future. RUN for your dreams.