的難民計畫目前為89名弱勢難民服務:33名女性、18名男性及38名年青人(包含10名青少年),他們來自17個不同國家,包括盧旺達、也門、厄立特里亞、索馬里及布隆迪等。

受益人是由正在當地進行難民工作的其他非政府組織(NGO)轉介至RUN,這些非政府組織包括基督教勵行會、香港司法中心及國際社會服務組織(ISS)。

請參閱我們有關保護受威脅兒童及成人的政策

超過70%

的參與者都曾遭受人權侵犯,包括酷刑、強姦、生理及心理折磨或其綜合。當中許多人受到創傷後壓力症候群(PTSD)、抑鬱、焦慮、過度警戒或類似的狀況困擾。

成年受益人中的65%為女性。

我們對女性特別關注,因為女性難民礙於宗教、文化價值、性暴力經歷、交通費用及家庭責任等障礙,而比男性難民更難接觸到運動。

30%的女性參與者目前獨身

未與家人同住或只與子女同住。

6%

的參與者是或曾是舉目無親的未成年人士。

案例分析

莎拉來自東非,來港時尚未成年(現時已滿18歲)

一隊民兵在莎拉未成年的時候洗劫了她位於東非戰區的家。莎拉目睹了家人被殘忍殺害的過程,雖然她倖免於難,但就付出被強暴數次的代價。後來莎拉趁機逃走,並在別人幫助下登上飛機,離開家鄉。這是她第一次坐飛機,也不知道自己要到哪裡去。她到港後申請了難民庇護,但歷經超過6年的等待,她仍然未能面試,得不到社會身份。她剛加入RUN的時候,幾乎不會說英文,也因為太過害怕而不敢離開居所。現在,她是一位值得自豪的健行者和跑者,也在香港社區中學習英文和交到朋友。莎拉說,RUN為她重新帶來了生活。

蘇菲亞,來自中東非

蘇菲亞年紀輕輕就住在戰區並遭受性虐待,後來更因為被認為是咎由自取而「被入獄」。她在監獄中遭受酷刑,但在她的嬰孩死去不久後被釋放。由於個人安全受到威脅,她無法再留在家鄉並逃離到香港。剛到埗時,莎拉在申請評審的過程中被拘留了幾個月,她因傷入院時甚至被手銬銬在病床上。現時她已經獲得難民庇護身份,正慢慢康復。蘇菲亞只有在外健行的時候才會感到放鬆,並且熱愛在大自然中的每一步。

奧斯卡,來自東非

由於政治觀點的分歧,奧斯卡遭受家鄉政府的逼害,即使慘遭酷刑也不妥協。短暫的緩刑期給奧斯卡帶著妻兒逃至安全地帶的機會。為了避免更壞的情況發生,他們只帶上了隨身衣物就離開了。如今,奧斯卡和RUN的大家一同跑步和游泳,而且很快會開始上學。他很感激在香港能安全生活,並透過RUN的幫助,正努力重新開始新生活。

*名字經過修改,以保護相關人士身份

RUN’s refugee programme currently serves 96 vulnerable refugees: 37 women, 18 men and 41 young people (including 13 teenagers) from 17 different countries, such as Rwanda, Yemen, Eritrea, Somalia and Burundi.

Beneficiaries are referred to us by other local NGOs working with refugees, including Christian Action, Justice Centre Hong Kong, as well as International Social Service (ISS).

Read our policy regarding Safeguarding Children and Adults at Risk

Over 70%

of the participants have suffered from horrendous human rights abuses, including torture, rape, physical and mental abuse or a combination of these. Many are suffering from Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), depression, anxiety, hyper vigilance or similar conditions.

65% ARE female

We have a special focus on women as female refugees often find it harder to access sports than males due to barriers such as religion, cultural values, past experience of sexual violence, cost of transportation and duties associated with childcare.

30% ARE ALONE

30% of the women participants are alone without family or alone with their children.

6% ARE MINORS

6% of the participants are/were unaccompanied minors.

Case studies

Sarah arrived in Hong Kong as a minor, (now over 18), from East Africa

Sarah was still a minor when a militia group raided her house in a war zone in East Africa. She witnessed when members of her family were brutally killed. She survived, but at the price of being raped several times. When there was a chance, she escaped and with some help got on a plane and left her country. She did not really know where she was going as it was her first time on a plane. She arrived in Hong Kong and applied for refugee protection. She has been waiting more than 6 years for her interview and still has no status. When she joined RUN, she barely spoke English and seldom left her house as she was too scared. Now she is a proud hiker and runner, studies English and has made friends across the Hong Kong community. Sarah says that RUN has given her her life back.

Sophia from East-Central Africa

Sophia lived in a war zone when she was sexually abused at a young age, and was then put in prison as she was considered responsible for what had happened to her. She was tortured in prison, but later released after her baby passed away. She could not stay in her own country as her personal safety was at risk and fled to Hong Kong. She spent several months in detention when she arrived here while her claim was being assessed. She was even handcuffed to her hospital bed when she was sick due to the consequences of her wounds. Today she has refugee protection, and is slowly recovering. She can only relax when she is out hiking, and loves every step in nature.

Oscar from East Africa

Oscar was being pressured by his home country's government to take on some political opinions that he disagreed with, and to which, even under heavy torture, he did not agree. A short respite from the torture gave him the chance to flee to safety with his wife and children. They left with only the clothes on their backs, before the worst could happen to them. Today he runs and swims with RUN, and will start studying soon. He is grateful to be safe in Hong Kong, and with RUN's support, is working on getting started on a new life.

* the names have been changed to protect people’s identities.